I can’t believe I’m saying this out loud but I’m too real to let judgment keep my mouth bound to silence. It has to be told, I’m not the only one who has placed myself in the lion’s den with the intentions of being just friends but allowing the communication signals to be misrepresented and misconstrued. I’ve played with fire more than once but this flame is a little too hot for me to touch. The stakes are high, self destruction is the reason why. I’m fading into an off limit zone, too much time has been spent and I’m too far gone to straighten out what I’ve bent.

I’m single and you’re…you’re…taken.
Although we haven’t proposed yet; but we are experienced enough to know where things are heading. I can intensely feel the chemistry being manipulated into my daily devotions. The thought of you… I mean us, encourages me to eat the forbidden fruit but I’m too wise to act like dealing with you wouldn’t taint my image and fate. Let’s be friends is a lyric we both pretend to say but we both know with time, you will request for something much more than friendship and I may not be able to grant. Let’s just call it quit now, when we can only feel little or no pain. You are beautiful; heaven knows you are… But the deterrent is…
I’m single and you’re…you’re…taken.

Adesuyi Lancaster Adesola ©2011

